Advisory Board


CEASA's codirectors oversee the entire portfolio of center projects and provide ongoing leadership toward fulfilling the center's mission. The codirectors also collaborate with all board members to determine research priorities.

Trevor Harris, Arthur J. Samberg Professor of Professional Practice, Columbia Business School

Professor Harris' research and practical experience has covered most areas of the use of accounting information for valuation, investment and management decisions, with a particular focus on global aspects. He originally joined the Columbia Business School faculty in 1983, and was the Jerome A. Chazen Professor of International Business, Director of the Chazen Institute of International Business and Chair of the Accounting Department, prior to joining Morgan Stanley as a Managing Director and Head of the Global Valuation and Accounting Team in 2000. He rejoined the faculty of Columbia Business School in July 2008 and was appointed as The Arthur J. Samberg Professor of Professional Practice.

Stephen Penman, George O. May Professor of Accounting, Columbia Business School

Stephen Penman is a leading scholar in the field and the author of Financial Statement Analysis and Security Valuation, published in a third edition in 2007 by Irwin/McGraw-Hill.

Advisory Board

The primary function of the advisory board is to determine the most salient issues in accounting and security analysis. Accordingly, the board selects the projects to which CEASA devotes resources, effort and expertise. By establishing the center's research priorities, the board ultimately determines how CEASA will shape and enhance financial reporting and security analysis practices.


Arthur Levitt, Jr., 25th Chairman of the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (1993-2001); Senior Advisor, The Carlyle Group

Board Members

Philip D. Ameen, Vice President and Controller, General Electric Company

Mark J.P. Anson, Managing Partner and Chair of the Investment Committee, Oak Hill Investment Management

John H. Biggs, Former Chairman and CEO, TIAA-CREF

Richard Carroll, Chief Accountant, IBM

J. Michael Cook, Retired Chairman and CEO, Deloitte & Touche LLP

Sir Howard J. Davies, Director, London School of Economics and Political Science

Peter Fisher, Managing Director, BlackRock; Former Under Secretary of the United States Treasury

Sallie Krawcheck, President of Global Wealth Management and Investments, Bank of America Merrill Lynch; Former Chairman and CEO of Citi Global Wealth Management, Citigroup

David F. Larcker, Professor of Accounting, Graduate School of Business, Stanford University

Carol J. Loomis, Senior Editor-at-Large, FORTUNE Magazine

Robert J. Swieringa, Anne and Elmer Lindseth Dean Emeritus and Professor of Accounting, S.C. Johnson Graduate School of Management, Cornell University