You are here

The Deming Cup

Deming Cup 2014

We are pleased to announce that the winners of the 2014 Deming Cup are Ellen Kullman, Chairman and CEO, DuPont and Stef Wertheimer, Founder and Honorary Chairman, ISCAR, Ltd.

The 2014 Deming Cup Award Ceremony will take place on Tuesday, October 28 at Columbia University.

Deming Cup 2014 

The Deming Cup is an annual prize presented by the Deming Center at Columbia Business School to recognize a world leader who has made outstanding contributions in the area of operational excellence and has fostered the culture of continuous improvement in an organization.

The Judging Committe was led this year by co-chairs Terry Lundgren (Chairman, President and CEO, Macy’s Inc., 2012 Deming Cup Winner), Sergio Marchionne (Chairman and CEO, Chrysler Group LLC; CEO, Fiat SpA, 2011 Deming Cup Winner) and Paul O’Neill (72nd Secretary of the U.S. Treasury, former Chairman and CEO, Alcoa).

Judging Committee 2015:

  1. Cesar Alierta, Chairman and CEO, Telefónica
  2. Robert Amen, Executive in Residence, Columbia Business School
  3. Lucien Arkas, Chairman, Arkas Group
  4. Wolfgang Bernhard, Member of the Board of Management, Daimler AG
  5. Roman Blanco, President and CEO, Santander Bank and 
    Santander Holding USA
  6. John Church, SVP Supply Chain, General Mills
  7. John Coatsworth, Provost, Columbia University
  8. Bruno Di Leo, SVP for Sales and Distribution, IBM Corporation
  9. Ali Doğramaci, Chair - Board of Trustees, Bilkent University
  10. Awi Federgruen, Professor, Columbia Business School
  11. Beth Ford, Chief Supply Chain & Operations Officer, Land O’Lakes, Inc.
  12. Nelson  Fraiman, Professor - Deming Center Director, Columbia Business School
  13. Peter Gibbons, EVP Global Operations, Mattel
  14. Lynne Greene, Group President, The Estee Lauder Companies
  15. Thomas Groos, Partner, City Light Capital
  16. Richard Jaffe, Managing Director, Stifel, Nicolaus & Company
  17. Fisk Johnson, Chairman and CEO, SC Johnson & Son, Inc.
  18. Klaus Kleinfeld, Chairman and CEO, Alcoa
  19. Shelly Lazarus, Chairman Emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather
  20. Sangwan Lee, Executive Advisor to CEO, Samsung Electronics
  21. Nicolás  Loaiza, Co-founder and CEO, Bodytech
  22. Terry Lundgren, Chairman, President and CEO, Macy's, Inc.
  23. Sergio Marchionne, Chairman and CEO, Chrysler Group LLC; Fiat S.p.A.
  24. Jorge Morán, Senior Fellow at Harvard University            
  25. David Niles, President, SSA & Company
  26. Bennett Nussbaum, Senior Advisor at Lone Star Funds / Hudson Advisors           
  27. Paul O'Neill, 72nd Secretary of the U.S. Treasury 
  28. Quentin Roach, Senior Vice President & Chief Procurement Officer, Merck
  29. Paolo Rocca, Chairman and CEO, Tenaris S.A.
  30. R. Seshasayee, Executive Vice Chairman, Ashok Leyland Ltd.
  31. Keith Sherin, Vice Chairman (GE); Chairman and CEO (GE Capital)
  32. Charles Sorenson, President and CEO, Intermountain Healthcare
  33. George Stalk, Senior Advisor and BCG Fellow, The Boston Consulting Group
  34. Burt Steinberg, Former President and Director, DressBarn
  35. Ratan Tata, Chairman, Tata Sons Limited
  36. David Thurm, COO, Art Institute of Chicago
  37. Garrett Van Ryzin, Professor, Columbia Business School

Criteria and Eligibility Requirements

The Deming Cup is seeking individuals who led initiatives in continuous improvement and helped change the culture within their company/organization.

Nomination Criteria

  1. Global leader who has applied and demonstrated the Deming principles
  2. Organization that exhibits multidimensional excellence (for instance excellence in safety, environmental responsibility and a view towards inclusion)
  3. Organization known for continuous improvement.
  4. An organization that has increased in shareholder value over a sustained period of time due to organic growth
  5. An organization where operational excellence has made a decisive impact on the competitive position of the firm
  6. Evidence of a culture in which all stakeholders in the organization are treated with dignity and respect
  7. Leader who requires data driven analysis and has clear commitment to impactful training and skill development


The nomination can be self or third-party recommendation. The nominee must demonstrate his/her contribution in the achievements of operational excellence, through specific and measurable outcomes.


Individuals can only receive the award once and the nominee must be alive at the time of nomination.


Deming Cup 2014

Learn more about the Deming Cup 2014 ceremony


Creating Operational Excellence


Learn more about us by reading our brochure, Creating Operational Excellence.



Featured video

Lessons learned from the Deming Cup Winners

Contact Us

Columbia Business School
Uris Hall, 3022 Broadway
New York, NY 10027
212 854 1122