The Botwinick Prizes in Business Ethics

Congratulations to John P. Bilbrey who received The Botwinick Prize in Business Ethics for 2016.

About the Botwinick Prizes

Each year, under the auspices of The Sanford C. Bernstein & Co. Center for Leadership and Ethics, The Botwinick Prizes in Business Ethics and Ethical Practice in the Professions are awarded to an individual or representative of a business organization exemplifying the highest standard of professional and ethical conduct, as well as ethical decision making in any of the professions, including, but not limited to, accounting, advertising, architecture, health care, journalism, law, public service and social service. The Botwinick Prizes in Business Ethics and Ethical Practice in the Professions were established by a generous endowment from the late Benjamin Botwinick, BS ’26 and his wife Bessie. 

The Bernstein Center would like to congratulate John P. Bilbrey, Chairman of the Board, President, and CEO, The Hershey Company who accepted the 2016 Benjamin Botwinick Prize in Business Ethics.  MBA and EMBA students, faculty, staff, and alumni were invited to a recpetion in his honor where "JP" Bilbrey delivered a keynote address highlighting ethical issues that have arisen during his career and life experiences.  Click here for photos from the event. 

In addition to the Benjamin Botwinick Prizes,  Columbia Business School students are selected to receive the Benjamin Botwinick scholarships. Both The Botwinick Prizes and Scholarships help to reinforce Columbia Business School’s commitment to leadership and ethics through core courses, extracurricular programming, and research.

Past Recipients of the Botwinick Prize in Ethics include:

David Stern
Commissioner Emeritus
National Basketball Association


Barbara Krumsiek
Chair, President, CEO
Calvert Investments


Mikael Ohlsson
Former President, CEO
IKEA Group


Jeffrey Immelt
Chairman, CEO


Joan Bavaria,
Founder, Former CEO
Trillium Asset Management

Russell Carson '67
Co-founder, General Partner
Welsh, Carson, Anderson & Stowe


Washington SyCip '43
SGV Group


Eugene Lang '40
Chairman Emeritus
REFAC Technology Development Corporation

Muriel Siebert
Former President, CEO
Muriel Siebert & Co., Inc.


Elliot Lehman
Co-Chair Emeritus
Fel-Pro, Inc.

Full listing of past recipients →