You are here

School News

January 30, 2012

Teaching Awards Recognize Innovative Courses, Faculty

Three Columbia Business School faculty members have received 2011 Dean’s Prizes for Teaching Excellence.

Topics: Leadership

Three Columbia Business School faculty members have received 2011 Dean’s Prizes for Teaching Excellence.

Daniel Ames, professor in the Management Division, was recognized for teaching Managerial Negotiations. As chair of the Cross-Disciplinary Area in Decision Making and Negotiations, Ames has implemented a system of shared resources, a teaching team model, and Columbia Business School cases into his course. Ames, who also teaches PhD courses, joined the School in 2002 and has previously received the Dean’s Award for Teaching in the Core, the EMBA Berkeley-Columbia Award for Excellence, and the Dean’s Award for Innovation in the Curriculum for 2003-04. His research focuses on social judgment and behavior.

Michael Johannes, professor in the Finance and Economics Division, received the award for his teaching of Capital Markets and Investments. Johannes chaired the Finance and Economics Division’s curriculum overview committee that made recommendations for curriculum changes in the wake of the 2008 financial crisis. Johannes, who joined the School in 2000, analyzes fixed-income and derivative securities pricing models in his research.

Doron Nissim, the Ernst & Young Professor of Accounting & Finance, was recognized for his teaching of Earnings Quality and Fundamental Analysis. Nissim joined Columbia Business School in 1997 and chaired the Accounting Division from 2006 to 2009. Nissim also teaches PhD courses and the core course Financial Accounting, for which he received the Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence in the Core in 2001-02. Nissim’s research is primarily in the areas of earnings quality, fundamental analysis, and equity valuation, and he is frequently cited in the popular press, including TIME, the New York Times, and the Economist.

The Dean’s Prizes for Teaching Excellence were established through a gift from George Wiegers ’61, who is the cofounder of Wiegers Capital Partners. Recognizing teaching excellence in three categories — core courses, elective courses, and by members of the adjunct faculty — the Dean’s Prizes are given to up to two professors in each category each year. The Dean’s Office also supplements the prizes in order to celebrate additional winners for their superlative performances in the classroom.