You are here

School News

December 19, 2013

Faculty Members Recognized for Elective Course Teaching

Professor Enrique Arzac was awarded for his Advanced Corporate Finance course, while Bill Duggan was honored for Napoleon’s Glance.

Two Columbia Business School faculty members have been recognized with Dean’s Prizes for Teaching Excellence in an Elective Course for 2013:

Enrique Arzac, professor in the finance and economics division, was recognized for the course, Advanced Corporate Finance. Arzac, an expert on corporate finance and valuation, also directs the merger and acquisitions programs for executives at the School and at London Business School. He is the author of the book, Valuation for Mergers, Buyouts and Restructuring, and has published many articles in finance and economics journals. He is currently studying valuation issues and practices in corporate acquisitions and the design of transactions structures. He received the 1995 Margaret Chandler Award for Commitment to Excellence, as well as many other commendations for teaching excellence.

Bill Duggan, senior lecturer in business, was awarded for his teaching in the course, Napoleon’s Glance. He is the author of four books on strategic intuition as the key to innovation. In 2007, the journal Strategy+Business named one of them, Strategic Intuition: The Creative Spark in Human Achievement, as “Best Strategy Book of the Year.” He has BA, MA, and PhD degrees from Columbia University. In addition to his teaching, he has given talks and workshops on strategic intuition to thousands of executives from companies in countries around the world.

The annual elective teaching award winners are chosen based on feedback from student evaluations and the Dean’s Office’s evaluation of the teaching quality — rigor, relevance, and integration — and delivery.

The Dean’s Prizes for Teaching Excellence were established through a gift from George Wiegers ’61, who is the cofounder of Wiegers Capital Partners. Recognizing teaching excellence in three categories — core courses, elective courses, and by members of the adjunct faculty — the Dean’s Prizes are given to up to two professors in each category each year. The Dean’s Office also supplements the prizes in order to celebrate additional winners for their superlative performances in the classroom.

Media Inquiries

Melanie Mitchem
Phone: 212-861-9147
Carrie Gray
Phone: 212-851-4098