The Eccles Prize

University Professors Awarded 2015 Eccles Prize:
Ceremony to be Held May 13 at Columbia's Faculty House

April 16, 2015

Most standard of living increases are associated with advances in technology, not the accumulation of capital – or at least that’s the common narrative. Yet it has also become clear that what truly separates developed from less developed countries is not just a gap in resources or output but a gap in knowledge. How countries learn and become more productive is key to understanding how they grow and develop, especially over the long term.

In their recent book, Creating a Learning Society: A New Approach to Growth, Development, and Social Progress (Kenneth J. Arrow Lecture Series, 2014), Columbia Business School Professors Joseph Stiglitz and Bruce Greenwald spell out the implications of this insight for both economic theory and government policy. For this work, the two authors have been awarded the 2015 George S. Eccles Prize for Excellence in Economic Writing. They will be recognized on Wednesday, May 13 with a ceremony and live Q&A held in Faculty House on Columbia University’s Morningside campus.

The event will take place from 6:00-8:00pm. To register please click here.

George S. Eccles ’22 initially established the prize at the School over 25 years ago to foster interest in and spur public discussion of economic theory, practice, and issues. Between 1986 and 1993, it was awarded annually to esteemed figures such as Henry Kaufman, Maryann Keller, and Paul Krugman, for their works bridging theory and practice. It was given again in 1998, when Bhagwati, then of MIT, was recognized for his book, Stream of Windows (The MIT Press, 1999).

In 2010, the George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Foundation inaugurated an annual research award in finance and economics for Columbia Business School faculty members and reestablished the prize for economic writing. In 2013, Paul Tetlock, the Roger F. Murray Associate Professor of Finance, was honored for his research on the impact of investors’ collective attention on stock prices. Also in 2013, Professor Daron Acemoglu of MIT and Professor James A. Robinson of Harvard took the Excellence in Economic Writing Award for their book, Why Nations Fail (Crown Business, 2012); Henry Kissinger received the award in 2012 for his book, Henry Kissinger on China (The Penguin Press HC, 2011).