Recipients of the George S. Eccles Prize for Excellence in Economic Writing

The George S. Eccles Prize for Excellence in Economic Writing is awarded annually to the author of the best book on economics that bridges theory and practice. The selection is made by a committee of leading Columbia Business School faculty and a member of the Eccles family. The two primary criteria for selection are academic rigor and layperson accessibility. 

2019 (Current Recipient)

Dani Rodrik
Straight Talk on Trade: Ideas for a Sane World Economy

In Straight Talk on Trade, Dani Rodrik, an early and outspoken critic of economic globalization taken too far, goes beyond the populist backlash and offers a more reasoned explanation for why our elites’ and technocrats’ obsession with hyper-globalization made it more difficult for nations to achieve legitimate economic and social objectives at home: economic prosperity, financial stability, and equity.

Past Recipients

Jagdish Bhagwati and Arvind Panagariya
Why Growth Matters

Daron Acemoglu and James A. Robinson
Why Nations Fail

Henry Kissinger
Henry Kissinger On China

Initial Years

Jagdish Bhagwati
Stream of Windows

Ron Chernow
The Warburgs

Peter Newman, Murray Milldate, and John Eatwell, editors
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Money and Finance

Daniel Yergin
The Prize

Maryann Keller
Rude Awakening: The Rise, Fall, and Struggle for Recovery of General Motors

Benjamin M. Friedman
Day of Reckoning: The Consequences of American Economic Policy Under Ronald Reagan and After

Alfred Malabre
Beyond Our Means: How Reckless Borrowing Now Threatens to Overwhelm Us

Henry Kaufman
Interest Rates, the Markets and the New Financial World